How to Prevent Makeup from Looking Flaky

Hello Love Doves!

The season of dry, flaky skin is approaching, and there is nothing more frustrating than the appearance of flaky, caked-on makeup. I actually suffer from this issue. I used to have dewy, flawless skin, and everyone would complement me on it – until one day. I suffered from a major breakout on my face, and after a trip to a dermatologist, who informed me that it was stress-induced and prescribed me antibiotics, as well as acne cream, the breakout cleared up, but left me with dry, flaky, patchy skin. After that, applying foundation/concealer, even super-hydrating tinted moisturizers like Laura Mercier’s cult-classic became a nighmare. My skin would end up looking horrendous, and my boyfriend even asked me, “Have you forgot how to apply makeup?” Needless to say, it was humilating. However, after doing some research, I found ways to combat this problem, and now my foundation appears smooth, even and flake-free. So, if any of you suffer from dry, flaky skin that results in the appearance of caked-on foundation, here are some very helpful tips that will allow your facial makeup to appear flawless.

1). Exfoliate

Before I had the problem with extra dryness, I never used to exfoliate. Exfoliating will remove the layer of dead skin that is causing your makeup to appear flaky, revealing a smooth, clear surface of fresh skin. Exfoliating can do wonders for your skin. I now exfoliate 3-4 times a week, using either St. Ive’s Apricot Scrub or Nip + Fab Glycolic Scrub Fix.

glycolicscrubfix_1

2). Always Moisturizer before Applying Foundation

This may seem like a no-brainer, but moisturizing is an effective way to combat dry, flaky skin. Just make sure not to use a petroleum-based moisturizer, as this will just sit on your skin without being properly absorbed. I love Nip + Fab’s Kale Fix Moisturizer because it is easily absorbed by your skin and has many skin-healing properties. Also, look for ultra-hydrating serums, like Evan Healy’s Rosehip Treatment Facial Serum.

 

evanhealy_rosehip_treatment_facial_serum_blue_large_23). Use Men’s Aftershave Balm

Yes – you read that correctly! Men’s aftershave balm has the power to dramatically moisturize your skin. In fact, Nivea Men’s Sensitive Post Shave Balm has been dubbed as the world’s best foundation primer by a wide array of beauty experts. Men’s aftershave balm is intensely moisturizing and is absorbed very easily by your skin. It contains a high concentrate of glycerin, which is a skin-binding agent. This explains why it makes such an effective foundation base. I swear, after using aftershave balm, I was able to apply my foundation without any unsightly flaking or caking. If you have dry, flaky skin, you should definitely give this remedy a shot.

4). Use Beauty Tools Instead of your Fingers

Whenever you have dry skin and apply your makeup with your fingers, it usually doesn’t blend very well. With that being said, opt to use a beauty tool instead, like a brush or beauty blender. I recently picked up a beauty blender and can definitely see what the fuss is about. This tool blends your makeup like an absolute pro!

5). Use a Mask

If you have dry and flaky skin, consider applying a face mask at least a couple of times a week. A good quality mask has the power to deeply moisturize and revive your skin. I love Fresh’s Rose Face Mask – I was given a travel sized gift from Sephora for my birthday and have been restocking ever since. This mask is deeply nourishing and luxurious.

So there you have it! These 5 tips will allow you to flawlessly apply your foundation like a pro, without the dreaded caked-on effect. Also, be sure to check out my giveaway!

Much Love,

Liz

 

Leave a Reply

