DIY Lip Plumper

Hello beauty junkies!

So I recently took a trip to Sephora on the hunt for a good lip plumper. It seems like big lips are a thing now – everyone’s loving the look, and I’m noticing a lot of chicks wearing a ton of lip liner lately, and I can probably attribute this to Kylie Jenner. However, beauty lovers on a budget simply can’t afford to throw away thousands of dollars on lip fillers. During my trip to Sephora, I picked up a Too Faced Lip Injection Extreme, and I wasn’t as impressed with the results as I hoped I’d be.

too-faced-lip-injection-extreme

Source: http://www.google.com

This had me thinking, “is it really worth spending up to $30 for a product with mediocre results?” Anyway, I had a light bulb moment, and thought to myself, “What if I could just make one myself?” So, I did some research and came across a few recipes. The results? They were actually no worse than this pricey plumper! I really liked the old Mother Plucker lip plumper, but I can’t seem to find it anywhere these days! Here is a natural yet effective DIY lip plumper recipe:

What you’ll need:

First, you’ll need a base, or a carrier oil to start. I personally love using either cocoa butter or lanolin (lanolin is used as a primary ingredient in a variety of pricey lip treatments, and really isn’t that pricey itself – I buy mine at Whole Foods), but there are many other options you can explore (you can also get creative and mix them together if you really want to embrace your inner exotic goddess), including liquids like vitamin E, sweet almond oil, olive oil, grapeseed oil, apricot seed oil, or solids like vaseline, bee’s wax, shea butter, or coconut oil.

Next, you’ll need your active lip plumping ingredients. Here is a list of natural yet effective lip plumping ingredients:

  • Clove Oil
  • Cinnamon Oil or Powder (the most popular active ingredient)
  • Cayenne Pepper (the second most popular ingredient, after cinammon)
  • Wintergreen Essential Oil
  • Peppermint Essential Oil
  • Ginger Powder/Oil
  • Black Pepper
  • Anise Oil

1). Potent Spice Lip Plumper

Ingredients:

  • A heat resistant mixing bowl
  • A tube of some basic lip balm (I like Nivea’s a Kiss of Smoothness, or if I really want to get luxurious, Laura Mercier’s lip balm, which is already a mild lip plumper)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon oil or cinnamon powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon clove oil
  • A small pot

Instructions:

1). Begin by filling your pot halfway with water. Place it on your stove and wait until it is simmering (not boiling)

2). Place the heat resistant mixing bowl in your pot.

3). Follow by twisting all of your lip balm out, and place it into the bowl. Do not discard of the empty tube! You’ll need this later.

4). Stir your melted balm product.

5). Add the cayenne pepper and stir the mixture well.

6). Add your cinnamon powder/oil and clove oil and stir very well.

7). Completely untwist your lip balm container, so you can pour in your entire mixture. You can also use a lip balm jar if you are unable to untwist your lip balm tube. This also makes a much more attractive, luxurious looking gift!

8). Let the mixture cool off. You an either let it cool off at room temperature, or store it in the fridge.

So there you have it! Pamper yourself with this surprisingly effective yet natural homemade lip plumping recipe. Enjoy!

Much Love,

Liz

 

Leave a Reply

